2016-05-25 Evernight by Claudia Gray

Book: Evernight

Author: Claudia Gray

Publisher: Harper Teen

Release Date: February 10th, 2009

Format: Paperback

Pages: 327

Started Reading: May 6th, 2016

Finished Reading: May 25th, 2016

Summary (supplied from GoodReads):  She’s been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn’t fit in.

Then she meets Lucas. He’s not the “Evernight type” either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him.

“I couldn’t stand it if they took it out on you,” he tells Bianca, “and eventually they would.”

But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can’t be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she’s ever believed.

My Thoughts: Evernight wasn’t terrible…but it’s not on my favourites list…I am starting to read the second book in the series, though, Stargazer. Wondering where that one will lead.

Bianca and Lucas are kind of plain to me…maybe I’m the only one seeing that, but this section is for my thoughts on the book. The connection between the two was way too close to that of Bella and Edward from the Twilight saga. Like you meet this person and the world just revolves around that…I didn’t really find a lot more contributions to the story, which I guess I have been looking for lately…Don’t get me wrong I know the story is classified under ROMANCE, but still. I mean Outlander has way more to the plot than this one!

The only character I really liked and that had some dimension to him was Balthazar. And, quite honestly I’m reading the second book just to get a bit more of a look at him.

Bianca’s roommate at first I was really put off by her. But, suddenly halfway through the book, she has changed to a much better character out of the blue. Which I also, didn’t like how that just changed.

The diversity in characters was poor I thought..and  a lot of them I felt were under-developed. Grace I felt like Sam said was “stoic”, almost like the writer was trying to make another Bella Swan and failed miserably…Sam…Just was not doing it for me. And, it hardly ever showed the other characters who could have made this a much better story.

In all honesty, the only thing going for this book was that Bianca never revealed that she was born to vampires until the scene where she bit Lucas. So, the reader has been reading up to that point and is completely oblivious to the fact that the main character is a supernatural creature.

Verdict: Again it wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great either. So that puts me right in the middle….

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars

Leave a comment