2017-07-04 A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Book: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Release Date: May 2nd, 2017

Format: e-Book

Pages: 699

Started Reading: May 2nd, 2017

Finished Reading: July 4th, 2017

Summary (supplied from GoodReads):   Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

My Thoughts: I really did enjoy this installment of the series. Was it my favourite? No. A Court of Mist Fury is still my #1.  It did take me a bit to get back into the book so that I could finish it. There was a good month that I hadn’t touched the book because I was too busy with my life.

This book was I felt almost like “here is what needs to be resolved and yeah its going to happen.” Which I suppose in a sense does need to be done, but I didn’t really feel as much suspense in the book until the end with the war. I’m not even sure how to explain it. But, there was something that left me a little dissatisfied while I was reading this book. To be honest I think I felt a bit more dissatisfaction BECAUSE of what was being panned out in the last 1/3 of the book.

Character relationships…where to begin. I didn’t notice any new character relationships really being formed until the last part of the book. So many characters were introduced in the very last part of the book, and we weren’t able to actually see them. That made me feel annoyed. Its like “here are some people that you’ll never see again”. For some of the important characters even if they were secondary…it didn’t build it up too good for them. The Bone Carver and the Sureil? I love their concepts, but I wasn’t able to spend enough time with them to love them more then I do. I will say that the relationships with the main group were strengthened. That I loved.  All except for poor Lucien…he could have definitely had more air time with Elaine. They find out that they are Mates and don’t have that much time in the book together? I’m sorry what? (#needmorelucienxelain2017) oh while I’m on that….(#needmorecassianxnesta2017) while you’re at it.

Characters? I still like them. Heck I love Helion! (#lucienneedsthetruth2017) Yes I’ve been using some hashtags…cause I want these to become a thing so that it can get news. 🙂 Um Rhys? I love him dearly still of course, but there was something lacking in his character for this book that I wished I had seen more…what was it? Oh yeah all of that sass that we had seen prior.

Remember how I mentioned bonds for characters earlier? Yeah by the way!!! Elaine and Azriel hinted to have a bond forming….um care to explain that one to me better Sarah?! Why show that bond and not the one with Lucien?! WHY?! Az…I really do home Az finds someone that he can be with… (#giveazamate2017) >.> Him and Mor need ones. Mor…I love her dearly, I’m grateful that a character represents the LGBT community in the books. But…I can’t really see how it was hinted all of those times in the last book…like I’m sorry that was just totally out of left field. I feel like Sarah did that just because she dosesn’t want Az to have anyone. Sarah just wants Az to herself >.> I see how it is.

Plot? I felt that it was ok. But, I wish that I had seen more twists in it. Even if Amren completely threw me off.

Setting? Eh….I didn’t find it as…I don’t want to use structured because that isn’t true. It was very well structured. I just felt like it was a detailed as it could have been.

Verdict: This was a good read. I loved it, but it wasn’t my favourite. I do think that it was lacking some elements. Others might disagree with me. So, I am going to give this book a 3.5 stars.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

